Ubisoft have released a trailer announcing the ‘Insane Edition’ of forthcoming tropical island shooter Far Cry 3.

The ‘humourous’ trailer reveals a Vaas Wahine bobble-head (really, Ubi?) amongst a host of other bits and bobs, a full list of which follows:

  • Exclusive survival kit packaging
  • A 12cm Vaas Wahine bobble head.
  • An Essential Island Survival Guide
  • Access to all unlockable content, including new single-player missions

See the trailer below.

Ok, I have to admit that I’m not particularly excited for Far Cry 3. I wanted to love Far Cry 2, and sometimes that was easy: I remember assaulting a castle with a buddy and escaping by the skin of my teeth, only to lose him in the ensuing chase; a tense, nervous shootout in a trainyard where I somehow managed to sneak around and take everyone out; swimming underwater past an enemy outpost before mounting my one-man assault from a more favourable angle…

But for every edge-of-the-seat battle, there was an equally annoying situation: sneaking through grass only to be spotted from a mile away (and subsquently sniped with an AK); respawning enemy checkpoints (which only got worse once you passed a certain level of notoreity, meaning you’d be chased and run off the road at least once every ten minutes); weapons jamming at the most innopportune moment (a problem which instantly disappears if you stumble upon a golden rifle, making you wonder why they included the mechanic at all).

I had high hopes for Far Cry 2. It disappointed me so completely that I’m not even planning to buy the follow-up. But then, the shortcomings of the previous game are well-documented, so perhaps Ubisoft have addressed them. I’ll be waiting to find out how Far Cry 3 plays before dropping my hard-earned.

No price has yet been announced for the Far Cry 3: Insane Edition. The game releases on 360, PS3 and PC on September 6th.

