Given that it’s one of my most anticipated titles due this year, I’m a little surprised I’m only just seeing this trailer now. Nevertheless, it’s got me even more excited for its release.

For those not in the know, Crimson Dragon is billed as a spiritual successor to Sega’s currently-dormant Panzer Dragoon series, and is being produced by former Team Andromeda leader Yukio Futatsugi, who directed all three Sega Saturn Panzer Dragoon games. It’s due for release sometime this year on Xbox Live and is a Kinect-only title.

Being an enormous Panzer fan (I still have my mint, boxed copies of all four titles, thank you very much), I’m a tiny bit disappointed that Crimson Dragon won’t be a physical, boxed release – this is exactly the kind of game I’d buy a special edition for. I’d love an art book and soundtrack cd, especially as Manabu Kusunoki (designer/CG producer for Panzer, Zwei and Saga)  and Panzer Saga/Orta co-composer Saori Kobayashi are both back on board for this title.

But as long as it plays as nicely with Kinect as 2011’s Child of Eden (also created by a former Sega alumnus, Sega AM3’s Tetsuya Mizuguchi), I can certainly forgive it being a digital-only release. Hopefully we’ll see more, and maybe even get a release date, at E3 in a couple of weeks.

