Welcome back to Musical Mondays! But before I assault your ears with this week’s aural delights, apologies are due for a lack of updates yesterday. I was at the MCM Expo all day and was unable to get a Sunday Soapbox feature done (they do tend to get quite lengthy!).

I’ll be writing up some of my experiences at the Expo for tomorrow, but for now, onto the music!


Can You Feel the Sunshine?
Composed by Richard Jacques
Performed by T.J. Davis

Yes! Sonic R! I mentioned Traveller’s Tales in a news piece a few days ago, and Sonic R memories came flooding back. Chances are you never played this Sega Saturn Sonic-based racer. And chances are the internet will tell you it was awful. But, almost fifteen years after its release, I maintain that this is not the case.

Sure, it doesn’t hold a candle to the likes of Mario Kart 64, which saw release mere months before Sega’s on-foot rival, but it held a charm all its own. A large part of this was, for me, down to the music. Yes, it’s cheesy and crazily ‘happy’-sounding, but it always felt like a perfect fit for Sega’s primarily-coloured design ethos. Blue Skies Forever, indeed.


Super Sonic Racing
Composed by Richard Jacques
Performed by T.J. Davis

When I think of Sonic R, it’s always the music that comes to mind first and foremost, and fifteen years on, I find I can still remember most of the words. So yes, you could call it cheesy, but I’d rather call it memorable. And like much of Sega’s best work, it never fails to put a smile on my face.

