Those of you hoping for a 3DS remake of The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask may be in luck, as Shigeru Miyamoto has named it as one of the titles he is considering for a release on Nintendo’s stereoscopic handheld.

Speaking to IGN, the man behind Mario indicated he was weighing up whether to get to work on Majora’s Mask or an even more cherished title. “We haven’t quite decided yet, whether we’re going to do A Link to the Past, because there’s also the possibility of doing a remake of Majora’s Mask,” he said. “This is something we’ve certainly been talking about and doing a little bit of experimenting with, to figure out which way we’re going to go.”

This, of course, begs the question of what form such a re-release might take; for Majora’s Mask we’ll obviously see a remaster in the vein of last year’s The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, but what of A Link to the Past? Will we see a stereoscopic port of the Super Nintendo classic or a full-fledged 3D remake?

Given the fantastic work done by Grezzo on Ocarina 3D, and the close relationship between the original and its direct sequel, you’d think Majora’s Mask would be quicker to bring to market. Miyamoto, however, said fans will need to be patient: “We have so many goals right now. We’re always looking at expanding our audience and giving people the opportunity to get their hands on 3DS and see what kind of fun gaming experiences they can have. And now, we’re also tasked with pushing the Wii U. So we have lots of good opportunities in terms of thinking about which Zelda game is going to be best for which purpose.”

Strangely, this is at odds with words spoken by series overseer Eiji Aonuma last November, when he told Portuguese site MyGames.pt that a new Zelda title was his priority. “But recently we released The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D as a remake. We are considering the idea, but it didn’t seem right to launch a remake one after another, so the next Zelda game on 3DS will be original.”, he said. It makes you wonder if perhaps Miyamoto stepped in and overruled him. I’m sure he can be very persuasive…

As to which of the two Zelda classics I’d like to see on 3DS? Well, both eventually. But if A Link to the Past turned out to be nothing more than a stereoscopic version of the original, I’d much rather have a remastered Majora’s Mask on my shelf. And this kind of brings me around to another point; why aren’t there any SNES classics on the 3DS store? I get that Nintendo want previous generations of handheld games on handhelds and home console games on home consoles. I get that. I don’t at all understand it, though. After playing through Metroid Fusion on my 3DS (yes, I’m an ‘ambassador’), it made me desperate for the opportunity to play Super Metroid on my handheld.

I’m a big fan of playing older games on handhelds. I can’t bear to play them blown up to enormous proportions on modern televisions, but on handhelds, they can be transformed, and a decent part of my handheld gaming time is spent on playing older games that I missed or wish to revisit. Handhelds are the perfect platform for that. Or is it just me?

Well, that’s enough of an off-topic rant. Which Zelda game do you want to see make a re-appearance on 3DS? And a wider question: Which older games would you like to see come to handheld formats in general?

