Hironobu Sakaguchi, creator of the massive, influential jRPG series Final Fantasy, has taken to Twitter to share a screenshot of his new game.

The Mistwalker founder is not working on a new epic RPG, though. Instead, his current project is a mobile surfing platform game called Party Wave.

Sakaguchi has previously announced that he was working on three titles for iOS devices, and Party Wave was inspired by his love of surfing. I can’t say I’m not disappointed that the creator of one of my favourite franchises is now making iPhone games, but he’s not alone, as other high-profile industry developers have taken to working on non-traditional forms of gaming; most recently Peter Molyneux, who left Lionhead for social gaming outfit 22cans.

Mistwalker’s latest title, Wii RPG The Last Story, is still sitting untouched on my shelf.  Hopefully by the time I get around to it, its creator will be looking to get back to what he does best.

