Final Fantasy XIII/XIII-2 director Motomu Toriyama has teased something new for the XIII universe.

Speaking to Famitsu, Toriyama said “The Lightning download content had an ending that left a feeling of mystery and hope. The day when the meaning of this will come to light is not too far off,” sparking rumours that the publisher is planning a Final Fantasy XIII-3.

This year’s sequel to the 2010 numbered entry ended on a “To be continued” cliffhanger, and many thought the ‘Requiem of the Goddess’ DLC would offer closure. Is Square-Enix merely planning more DLC for the title, or we will another full sequel?

(I must shamefully admit that I have yet to finish XIII-2, so I’ve not seen the ending yet, nor have I played the DLC. I’m on the final boss of the main game though, and I aim to get back to it soon!)

In other Square-Enix-related news, Toriyama also suggested that the PS3/Vita HD remaster of Final Fantasy X is still some way off. In the same interview, he told the Japanese magazine, “Regarding HD conversions, there is a lot to look into, so please wait a bit more.”

All we’ve done so far is wait! It’s been almost ten months since it was announced, and we’ve heard absolutely nothing since. The re-release is one of the reasons I bought a Vita (one of my favourite games available to play in the palms of my hands? Yes please!), and I like to think I’m fairly patient. But surely after this much time they’d have something to tell us? This year is both the tenth anniversary of Final Fantasy X and the twenty-fifth anniversary of the franchise as a whole. I’m starting to think the re-release will miss both.

