It’s Monday again, and that can only mean it’s time for yet more videogame music! Last week I promised to take a break from Final Fantasy music (despite the recent release of Theatrhythm Final Fantasy) to focus on music from Sony Japan Studio’s gorgeous physics-defying adventure Gravity Rush. Now that I’ve finished that game (sequel please!) and I’m twenty hours into Theatrhythm, it’s time to feature a few choice cuts from Square-Enix’s glorious celebration of their biggest franchise’s music.

The song that surprised me:


Eternal Wind from Final Fantasy III

This song really grabbed me while playing through Series Mode. Final Fantasy III is one of a small group of numbered series games that I’ve not played, so the music was new to me. ‘Eternal Wind’ really surprised me as a composition, and it amazes me that Nobuo Uematsu was able to create something so layered and melodic on 1990 hardware.

The song that’s a ton of fun:


Battle at the Big Bridge from Final Fantasy V

Ok, so it’s a big fan favourite, but FFV is one of those numbered series games I haven’t played, so ‘Battle at the Big Bridge’ is new to me. And it’s a fantastic battle theme to play along to on Theatrhythm, featuring a few different rhythms and a variety of sections to mix up your stylus swipes. I’m looking forward to hear it in its full orchestral glory at Distant Worlds this November.

The biggest disappointment:


To Zanarkand from Final Fantasy X 

Don’t get the wrong idea. ‘To Zanarkand’ is one of my favourite pieces of Final Fantasy music. What’s disappointing is that it’s only used as an intro piece for the FFX series playlist, meaning it can only be played if you intend to play the series as a whole, and even then, you just tap the lower screen in time with the beat, so it almost seems wasted to me. Still, at least it’s in the game, and ‘Suteki Da Ne’ gets the full-on Event stage treatment, backed with beautiful cutscenes from the game.

Theatrhythm Final Fantasy really is the ultimate music game, as far as I’m concerned. I’m 20 hours in and not even close to being done with it. If you own a 3DS and like Final Fantasy music, it’s a no-brainer. Buy it!

