I’ve been doing weekly content updates for Square-Enix’s rhythm-action title Theatrhythm Final Fantasy for a while now, and last week I speculated that the four new songs added might be the last. Sadly I was right, as there are no new songs available to download today.

Still, 52 additional songs strikes me as a pretty good level of support for a handheld game, and a bit of quick multiplication tells me I’ve spent an additional £46.80 on the DLC… At any rate, it seems a bit of a shame if no more content is forthcoming, as there are plenty of great pieces of music still to be pulled from the Final Fantasy universe.

With this in mind, today I’m going to do something a bit different and showcase a small handful of songs that I would have liked to see in the game. And who knows, maybe we’ll see some sporadic content releases in the future – one of the positives of DLC is, after all, that so long as the host platform (in this case the 3DS) is still viable, the door is never really closed.

‘Anxious Heart’, from Final Fantasy VII

I love the atmosphere of this song, first heard in the train graveyard. There’s a feeling, certainly prevalent in the Midgar slums, that people are just plodding along; not really living, just existing. I think this piece of music perfectly captures that feeling of detached hopelessness, while the xylophone part adds a very dreamlike quality. As a very slow-paced song, I’m not sure how well it would work in Theatrhythm, but I’d love to find out.

‘Don’t Be Afraid’, from Final Fantasy VIII

Quite how this isn’t already in the game I don’t know. Final Fantasy VIII‘s battle theme shouldn’t need any introduction, and it’s obvious that this would be a fantastic addition to Theatrhythm, given both its high tempo and the number of battle tracks already present in the game. That it’s also a fan favourite makes its exclusion even harder to fathom.

‘The Price of Freedom’, from Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII

This one’s strictly down to personal preference, as I absolutely love this song. Again, it might be a bit too slow to work in Theatrhythm (at Ultimate difficulty, at least), but we’ve already had one song from a PSP spin-off that was composed by Takeharu Ishimoto in last week’s ‘We Have Arrived’, from Final Fantasy Type-0, so it wouldn’t be outside of the realms of possibility.

‘Cosmos’, from Final Fantasy Type-0

I’m slotting this one in for a couple of reasons. For one, I’ve been playing a lot of Dissidia 012 recently, so it keeps popping up. Secondly, it’s very different from the typical Final Fantasy fare, so it’d be nice to see it included.

I’d love to see more content appear for Theatrhythm, though I have already put 70 (!) hours into the game, and with stuff still left to unlock, I’ll still be playing it for many more. But it’d be great to have the tracklist refreshed every now and then. Who knows, maybe we’ll see more. But then, I’m an optimist.

