Square-Enix have shown off the first screens of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn for PS3, and after the glorious PC stills and footage we’ve seen, it’s not hard to be a teeny bit disappointed.

Granted, it’s only mildly disappointing in comparison to those screens, and I doubt anyone was expecting anything approaching parity with a high-end PC game. It’s still a very nice-looking game, if a little jaggy – hopefully the final game will look a little cleaner, especially given the amount of detail on display in the screenshot above.

One of the screens also gives us a glimpse of the console version’s UI, which looks somewhat reminiscent of the PS3’s XMB system… of which I am not a fan. I’m sure I’ll get used to it, and perhaps it’ll be useful to have a UI I am at least familiar with when I’m trying to get to grips with my first MMO.

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn will launch on both PC and Playstation 3 in 2013.

