ds2s
Yes, it’s a new year, but I still have a ridiculous backlog. Worse, in fact, thanks to receiving games for Christmas, as well as sales on the likes of Steam and GOG.com. As always, the first few months of the year are again jam-packed full of new releases that will also be joining the growing list, while I fruitlessly try to whittle away at it.

And it is one of the upcoming releases that’s on my mind today; Dead Space 3 launches in a little under three weeks, and I honestly don’t know how I feel about it. The original Dead Space was one of my favourite games of 2008 – I absolutely loved it. Contrary to popular internet opinion, I thought 2011’s Dead Space 2 bettered the original in every way (except for that frustrating monster-rush near the end), and it ended up being my favourite game of 2011, ahead of Skyrim and Sonic Generations.

But Dead Space 3? I don’t know what to make of it. Admittedly, I haven’t seen much of it, which is likely to its benefit, but I didn’t much like what I did see – series protagonist Isaac Clarke running around a bright, Hoth-like world called Tau Volantis engaging in third-person shooter battles with human opponents with an AI companion in tow.

At first glance, these sound like the exact same issues that most people had with Resident Evil 5 back in 2009. The demo and the overwhelmingly negative reaction that I noted online put me off playing that game until last year, and when I did I loved every minute, so perhaps I am giving Dead Space 3 short shrift. I can say that I’ve been curiously uninterested in the game since that initial unveiling, yet as it creeps closer to release, I am unexpectedly starting to look forward to it. And I’m quite glad to feel that way – I do love the franchise, after all. I even read the thoroughly mediocre book about Michael Altman and the origins of Unitology…

So, I said I loved Dead Space 2 (and I really did – I feel like it didn’t get enough praise – certainly for the visuals, which I believe are among this generation’s best). When I spied the DLC mini-campaign Severed on Xbox Live for a cheapo price more than a year ago, I snapped it up eagerly. There it has since remained, unplayed, on my harddrive. But as Dead Space 3 began to gently tug at my attention, it occured to me that playing through Severed might be a good way to get back into the franchise before the sequel arrives.

Dead Space 2: Severed is a two-chapter mini-campaign, featuring characters from the enjoyable lightgun spin-off Dead Space: Extraction (and set three years after that game) and is a side story to the events of Isaac’s own traversal through the Sprawl. As far as I’m aware, the gameplay is broadly comparable to the main campaign (though I imagine suit and weapon upgrades must be either excised or handled differently), and I hear it’s just a couple of hours long – perfect for someone who’s trying to clear items from a backlog!

Of course, the fly in the ointment of this plan is that tomorrow will see a Dead Space 3 demo arrive on XBL and PSN, so that will get all my attention (and I’ll most certainly be doing a write-up, you can count on that!); if it’s good, I’ll probably be salivating over more Dead Space content and immediately load up Severed. If it’s bad? Well, I’ll probably be sitting in a corner crying and rocking back and forth whilst holding onto my knees, lamenting what has become of one of my favourite new franchises this gen.

Let’s hope for the former, eh?

