Ni No Kuni is finally in my hands! I’ve been waiting for this game for years, so it feels a bit strange that I actually have it now. Back in June, I pre-ordered the generous Wizard’s Edition, and I had intended to make an unboxing video for it, but I have a noisy house today so we shall have to make do with a handful of images, which leads us nicely to this quick look at what you get in the box.

Firstly, the box itself:
WP_20130131_001It’s quite a large box, and it has to be considering it holds the game, a large hardbound book and a lovely Mr Drippy plushie. It comes in a flip-top box with a card slipcover over it and a nice piece of line art takes up most of the front.

Here’s the open box and the treasures contained therein:
WP_20130131_002Poor old Mr Drippy is suffocating in a plastic bag, so let’s set him free.

That’s better! Tidy, mun! I’ll sit Mr Drippy on my shelf, next to my chocobo.
WP_20130131_003

Here’s the Wizard’s Companion, a real, hardbound version of the book Oliver uses in the game:
WP_20130131_004From what I gather, it’s necessary to use the book while playing the game in order to solve some puzzles. There is an in-menu version of the book to scroll over, but I’m quite happy to have a physical edition to scour at my leisure, and it looks like there’s quite a bit to read, from profiles of familiars to spell runes to alchemical recipes, a full bestiary, a collection of short tales and much more besides.

It’s beautifully illustrated throughout and very well-made – it feels like a real, quality collectors item. Here’s a couple of pages from the book:
WP_20130131_005
WP_20130131_008

Aaand that’s it for now. I’m itching to get playing, so enjoy the images, and if you also get Ni No Kuni today, leave me a comment below and let me know what you think so far.

