It’s been a while since my last ‘Musical Mondays’ piece, and this one was prompted by doing something that I’ve previously covered in another of my irregular series’ – my backlog-baiting ‘My Stupid Backlog’ pieces. You see, over the weekend, I finally finished The Witcher, a game which, along with its sequel, was the focus of my second ‘MSB’ piece, and when I heard the end credits theme, Believe, I just knew I had to write a post about it.

It reminded me of when I first finished the original Mass Effect and M4 pt II by Faunts kicked it; it just felt so fitting, so right. This piece of music is wildly different from that which closed the first chapter of Commander Shepard’s story, but no less fitting for the game it brings to an end.

I love the mix of violin and electric guitar in this theme. It all melts together beautifully, the violin lending the music a bittersweet, melancholic edge, while in other places joining up with the guitar, soaring in triumph. It perfectly evokes Geralt’s travels and trials throughout the game, each victory coming with a price attached. It also perfectly encapsulates how I felt when I had completed the game – elated at finally seeing the tale through to its conclusion, yet a little sad to see it go.

As a bonus, here’s a track taken from the bonus CD The Witcher: Music Inspired by the game that came bundled with the Enhanced Edition. It’s a beautiful piece of harp-led electronica, and includes some samples that are taken straight from the game’s soundtrack.

It feels good to finally be seeing some movement on my ridiculous backlog of shame, and I’m really glad I played The Witcher. Though a little clunky in places, it’s an utterly fantastic game, and with the third title on the horizon, now is a perfect time to grab the first game and its sequel Assassins of Kings, which will be next on my list… after BioShock Infinite, of course.

