markmeerI haven’t been paying attention to the MCM Expo website recently (I don’t need to be convinced to go, I’ll be there regardless), so this one slipped by me; Mark Meer, voice of the male build of Mass Effect‘s Commander Shepard, will be at the event, taking place next month (24-26 May).

It’s unclear whether Mark will be participating in any panels, but the blurb on the MCM site, reproduced below, suggests he’ll be there all weekend and will be taking part in signing sessions. From MCM’s site:

Mark is internationally known for his roles in Mass Effect and its sequels, Mass Effect 2 and Mass Effect 3, in which he stars as the voice Commander Shepard. He also provides the voices of several other characters in the trilogy, including Blasto the Hanar Spectre, the “Biotic God” Niftu Cal, and the entire alien race known as the Vorcha.

Meer also stars as Baldur’s Gate II: Shadows of Amn, Baldur’s Gate II: Throne of Bhaal, Jade Empire, Neverwinter Nights: Hordes of the Underdark, Dragon Age: Origins, Dragon Age: Origins – Awakening, and Dragon Age II. He plays several characters in Baldur’s Gate: Enhanced Edition from Overhaul Games and Beamdog, including Calishite monk Rasaad yn Bashir and the Lord of the Black Pits, Baeloth the Entertainer.

Mark will be signing autographs and meeting fans over the MMC Comic Con weekend.

I hope I can get his autograph. I already have some things signed by a few of the Mass Effect voice cast; Kimberly Brooks, who voiced Ashley Williams (and most recently voiced Daisy Fitzroy, leader of BioShock Infinite‘s Vox Populi), Ali Hillis, voice of Dr. Liara T’Soni (also well known for providing the voice of Lightning in Final Fantasy XIII and its sequel), and Courtenay Taylor, who voiced Jack in Mass Effect 2 and 3 (and took on the role of Ada Wong for the recent Resident Evil 6). You can see some of the stuff they signed below.
WP_20130408_002

Hopefully meeting him won’t require waiting in a queue for almost three hours, as was the case when I met Ali Hillis and Courtenay Taylor! Not that it wasn’t worth it, it just seemed to be especially poorly planned out. I don’t think I queued more than thirty minutes when I met Kimberly Brooks. I’ll be keeping a closer eye on the MCM site over the next few weeks to see who gets added on, but Mark Meer is a fantastic start. Now I just need to book my ticket…

