xillia2We’re about a month out from the Western release of Namco-Bandai’s Tales of Xillia, and the company has announced that its sequel, imaginatively titled Tales of Xillia 2, will also be making its way to the West.

It was my understanding that a potential release of Xillia 2 would hinge on sales of the first game; perhaps Namco-Bandai are very happy with the pre-orders they’ve seen so far. Either way, this is great news for franchise fans, and with both of these titles and the recently-announced Tales of Symphonia Chronicles on the horizon, it’s a good time to be a fan of the series.

Tales of Xillia 2 takes place a year after the first game, and follows protagonist Ludger Will Kresnik. Returning characters, such as Jude and Milla, have new designs which can be seen in the game’s Japanese opening, below. Tales of Xillia 2‘s theme song is ‘Song 4 U’ by Ayumi Hamasaki, following on from the first game, which used her song ‘Progress’.

In other welcome Tales of news, it’s been announced that, in a first for the series, Tales of Symphonia Chronicles will have dual audio. Typically, I’d play any game in English where available (in contrast to anime or foreign film, where I’d always go with subs), but having watched the Symphonia anime recently (and having never played either Symphonia game), the Japanese voices are already ingrained in my mind and associated with those characters. Assuming the game and anime used the same cast, I think that’s what I’ll be doing.

I’m really excited to get these games in my hands and increase my Tales of collection. We can expect both Tales of Symphonia Chronicles and Tales of Xillia 2 sometime in 2014. It’s going to be a great year ahead for the series’ fans.

