Microsoft have published a new video showing Director of Programming for Xbox Live, Larry “Major Nelson” Hryb, unboxing the upcoming successor to the Xbox 360.

The video, embedded below, confirms that the Xbox One will indeed come with a headset in the box. The retail package was previously said not to include one, with Microsoft claiming Kinect 2.0 would handle all your in-game chat needs, but it seems they’ve relented and thrown a decent-looking standard headset in the box. According to Major Nelson, it features “improved comfort, in-line audio controls and improved audio quality for in-game chat”. He also talks about the “4K-capable” HDMI cable that Microsoft are including with the console, which is a nice gesture considering neither current-gen consoles come with one in the box.

Also on display is the Kinect sensor, which Major Nelson rather laughably calls “little” – it’s huge! It’s certainly noticeably larger than the current one that’s sitting in front of my TV. We can also see that the Xbox One again has an external power supply, which continues the two-tone gloss/matte black of the main console unit. I can’t say I’ve ever been particularly bothered about power bricks, so this one will again fail to raise any annoyance in me. At the end of the video, Major Nelson also shows off the capacitive touch power button, before signing off with “See you at Gamescom”, which will take place in Cologne, Germany in a couple of weeks.

I have to say, the more I see the Xbox One the more I’m starting to like the way it looks. I hated it when it was first unveiled, but it’s really growing on me. It’s just as well, considering I have one on pre-order! You can see the unboxing video below.

Source: Xbox Wire

