Welcome to a new (hopefully weekly) segment here on PSG! Regular readers will know that I’m currently playing through Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn on PS3, and my intent with Postcards from Eorzea is to showcase some of the sights of Square-Enix’s gorgeous world. So let’s get started with one of my favourite shots.

Khroma Midgard 11_09_2013 00_59_56

This is The Salt Strand, located in Lower La Noscea not far from Moraby Bay. I first came across this region during the phase 3 beta and for a second I thought I’d somehow wandered into Lake Bresha from Final Fantasy XIII. When I managed to get back there in the full release game, I made a point to find a decent vantage point for a nice picture and the above image is the result. I’m pretty happy with the way this one came out, and it’s a nice example of some of the beautiful vistas that can be found in Square-Enix’s new MMO. Make sure to click through to see the full-size shot.

Feel free to share your own postcards from Eorzea, and let me know in the comments what you think of Naoki Yoshida and his team’s world. I’ll share another of my shots next week.

If you aren’t aware of how to take screens on the PS3 version, here’s how: hold L1 and press Start to take a shot. You can also remove the HUD and all UI elements (which is what I’ve done in most of my shots) by holding L1 and pressing Select.

