I mentioned in my Eurogamer Expo piece that I really enjoyed Killer Instinct. In fact, I enjoyed it so much that I’ll definitely be buying it on day one when I get my shiny new XBO. But I’m a bit rusty on fighting games; many years have passed since I put hundreds of hours into Street Fighter Alpha 2 on the Saturn, and many more since I used to Ultra friends with Fulgore on the SNES and arcade versions of the original KI. So I’m going to need some help.

Happily, the new instalment of Killer Instinct comes with a dedicated training mode, called Dojo Mode. Sure, this is fairly standard these days, but KI‘s dojo seems to be very in-depth, walking you through basic combos and their construction all the way up to showing hitboxes for every move in the game. Below, you can see TheOnlineWarrior‘s Maximilian and Michael Willette from developer Double Helix walking through the trainer/tutorial. I can’t wait to get to grips with it and then have a few winner-stays-on days with friends when it launches next month!

If you’re interested in Killer Instinct and want to see more, check out Maximilian’s youtube channel, which has plenty of in-depth videos, including breakdowns for all of the currently-announced characters.

