Welcome back to Postcards from Eorzea! It’s been a couple of weeks since my last update as unfortunately I haven’t had a great deal of free time to put into Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn recently – those Games of the Generation posts have really been eating into my free time! So here’s a callback to one of my earlier postcards, where I grabbed a nice image of my character running through La Noscea on a rented chocobo. Here though, I have my own steed!

Khroma Midgard 17_10_2013 00_59_09

Mounts become available once you join one of Eorzea’s three Grand Companies and then accrue 2,000 company seals to pay for your licence. I went with the Gridanian Company, The Order of the Twin Adder, because Gridania is my hometown and I just love the place. If I’ve been away for a while, returning to the leafy environs of the forest nation feels like coming home.

Once you’ve got your licence, a chocobo is yours. Of course, you’ll have to name your mount, and this can be done only once, so choose wisely! I named my glorious steed Belius, after a character from Tales of Vesperia. Because they’re both yellow.

BONUS ROUND!
Here’s a bonus pic of my other mount, my Coeurl that I got from the collector’s edition of the game. As much as I love its design, I prefer Belius, as unfortunately your company chocobo is the only mount you can name. Still, it looks damn cool!

Khroma Midgard 17_10_2013 00_56_27

I’m going to have to put a bit more time into the game – soon enough, Lightning will be arriving in Eorzea. The final two parts of the quest, at levels 38 and 45 respectively, are currently out of my level range, so I’ll need to get levelling!

Feel free to share your own postcards from Eorzea, and let me know in the comments what you think of Naoki Yoshida and his team’s world. I’ll share another of my shots next week. To browse through this and previous editions of Postcards from Eorzea, click here.

