It’s been a long long time coming, but finally we have a European release date for the HD remaster of Final Fantasy X and its direct sequel X-2. The collection will hit store shelves on March 21st next year, a whole three months after the Japanese release.

Below you can see a massively spoilerific trailer in celebration of the announcement. These games are over a decade old now, but if you haven’t yet played them and want to go in fresh, I would strongly advise you not to watch. Or maybe mute the audio.

The trailer also takes time to point out some of the extras we’ll be getting our mitts on in this package. First up is ‘Eternal Calm’, a fifteen-minute in-engine chapter that bridges the two games, providing the impetus for Yuna’s quest in Final Fantasy X-2. We’ll also finally be able to play ‘Last Mission’, an additional, multi-level dungeon run that takes place three months after the end of the sequel.

The pair of games looks absolutely gorgeous, and watching the emotional scenes play out to a backdrop of ‘Suteki da ne’ really got the hairs standing up on the back of my neck. I can’t wait to adventure through Spira again, although it’s curious to note that the trailer makes no mention of my preferred format, the Vita.

As far as I’m aware it’s still coming (it’s confirmed for release alongside the home console version in Japan, at least), but the end of the trailer, when we first see the confirmed release date, only mentions the PS3 version. I really hope the Vita version hasn’t been canned. Releasing it on a handheld in Japan makes perfect sense given how common they are, but I wonder if Square-Enix has decided it’s not worth it outside of their home territory. I’m hoping I’m just being overly cynical and we see the game launch on Sony’s handheld alongside the PS3 version – I already have that beautiful special edition pre-ordered, so I’m hoping for cross-saves!

