BD_LEFULLToday sees beautiful 3DS RPG Bravely Default hit European store shelves, just over a year after its Japanese release (as Bravely Default: Flying Fairy), and as you can see from the image above, I decided to help myself to the European-exclusive Deluxe Edition. Help yourself and your eyes to some pics of the enormous box and its contents below.

I mentioned that the box was enormous, and it truly is. This is mostly to accommodate the full-size hardback art book. I’ve mentioned in other limited edition quick looks that I’d rather have a hardback art book, but Bravely Default‘s tome goes one better by being a full-blown book.
BRAVELY OPEN BOX

Other than the lovely art book (art from which you can see in the gallery at the bottom of this piece), the box also contains a figurine of Bravely Default‘s mage Agnes. What surprised me the most about the figure is that it’s not plastic – it feels like porcelain. I guess it could be made of polystone, but it doesn’t feel as ‘dense’ as statues made from that material tend to.
BD_AGNES

Also in the box is the game itself (of course), a pack of 34 AR cards (that I’ve yet to try out) and a lovely ten-track “mini-album” soundtrack with a beautiful piece of art on the cover.
BD_CONTS

The deluxe edition truly is a deluxe item; every part of it is lavishly-produced, from the big, solid presentation box, silver-foil art elements embossed on black, to the handpainted Agnes statue, and even the beautifully minimalistic soundtrack disc art (which you can see in the gallery), everything is beautifully made. I can kind of understand now why they were originally asking for Ā£100 for it. Thankfully the price dropped almost immediately to Ā£80, and I’m perfectly happy with what I’ve received for my money – I think it’s worth every penny.

Now I just need to find the time to play the game! Hopefully I’ll get to it before the just-announced sequel, Bravely Second, is released!

Enjoy some more images of the Bravely Default Deluxe Edition in the gallery below.

