ffxhdban_editedIt’s been a long time coming, but we finally have confirmation on a Vita release for Final Fantasy X|X-2 HD. The game will see release day and date with the PS3 version on March 21st 2014.

The news was announced by Square-Enix community manager Lee Williams over on the PS Blog. I had begun to worry; the release date announcement only mentioned the home console version, and all the trailers we’ve had recently made no mention of the handheld. I was starting to think it had been quietly canned. Thankfully this is not the case, and unlike the Japanese release, which offers Final Fantasy X and its sequel as separate boxed purchases, the Western release will consist of a physical copy of Final Fantasy X with an included code to download X-2 from PSN at no extra charge.

I have mixed feelings about this; I’m glad to save a bit of money (especially as I have the PS3 limited edition on pre-order), but I would have liked to have separate physical boxes of each for my collection. Still, this brings the Vita release in line with the PS3 version, which contains both games on one disc.

Also of note on the Blog post was a comment by Williams in reply to a poster’s question about the recently-announced North American special edition for Lightning Returns: Final Fantasy XIII. Will it be coming to Europe? Unfortunately not: “And I know it’s not what you want to hear,” he said, in reply to commenter Azuardo, “but unfortunately there won’t be a Collector’s Edition for Lightning Returns: FFXIII coming to Europe either.”

That’s a shame. I have signed limited editions for both of the previous two games in the trilogy, so it would have been nice to complete the set. Still, with limited editions of both Final Fantasy X|X-2 HD and Tales of Symphonia Chronicles coming my way within weeks of one another, I’ll have enough collectible jRPG goodness to keep me busy early next year.

