Ok, so I’m a day late, but I thought I’d wish you all a Happy New Year. I had been hoping to put up a similar post for Christmas, but unfortunately I was without power (and heat, and light…) for five days beginning on Christmas Eve. So ‘Happy New Year’ it is!

I also wanted to post an update on what’s happening with my Games of the Generation series. My original intention was to have them all finished before the Xbox One and PlayStation 4 launched back in November, but knowing how I write, that was probably a bit naïve. I have about five more that I’ve barely started, so getting those pieces up is going to be my plan for January.

There’s also the issue of my backlog; there are games I’m yet to play that I think may end up on the list, so I’ve decided to just keep writing about my favourite games of the last generation for the foreseeable future. The series will be done when it’s done.

Going forward, I also have an extra platform to cover, having bought myself a Wii U just before Christmas. I couldn’t resist the lure of The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD, a beautiful remake of a game I stupidly ignored ten years ago (despite owning a GameCube). Christmas always feels like a good time to play through one of Link’s adventures, and it helps that I also received a copy of excellent 3DS title A Link Between Worlds and the frankly enormous Hyrule Historia hardback companion to the series as gifts. It’s going to be a very Zelda new year!

For now, I’m going to focus on playing a few games as I missed out during Christmas. I’ll be back to writing next week.

