I mentioned in my last post that I was currently playing the Titanfall beta for Xbox One, and that I had yet to play the third and final mode on offer, Last Titan Standing. I’d put it off for the first couple of days, as I thought I wouldn’t like it all that much; I expected it would just be Titans shooting the crap out of each other for a few minutes and not much else. This negative impression wasn’t helped by the knowledge that dying once means you’re out for the rest of the round.

But I was more than willing to give it a chance to change my mind, and after a couple of hours with the mode last night, change my mind it did. To better illustrate how the mode plays, I’ve collected some of my GameDVR clips together into a Last Titan Standing gameplay montage (once again, apologies for the video quality; Titanfall and XBO GameDVR don’t seem to like one another very much).

There’s a fair bit more to Last Titan Standing than just jumping in your mech and slugging it out with the other team. Of course, you can do that, but you’re going to want to stick with at least one other friendly Titan or risk being overwhelmed by multiple enemies. But you can also jump out of your Titan, setting it to guard mode to keep it out of the fight until you’ve weakened the other team. Or you can set it to follow you around, providing extra firepower and a diversion for your pilot.

Either way, playing as a pilot really has its benefits in this mode; the attention is always on the Titans, so as a nimble footsoldier you can scramble up and into buildings and fire your anti-Titan weapon into the backs of your enemies as they’re pre-occupied with someone else. After a while, I had taken to setting my Titan to guard a remote part of the map (so as to keep it out of the fight for as long as possible), heading out as a pilot to soften up the other team, before bringing my factory-fresh mech steaming into the fray.

I was surprised to find, after a few matches, that Last Titan Standing is probably my favourite mode of the three in the beta. I had thought it would be an almost tactics-free slugfest, yet I found it to be the most considered mode on offer once you got into the swing of things and devised a plan for taking down enemy Titans. I can also say I have a distinct preference for the Fracture map when it comes to Last Titan Standing; the relative openness of the map certainly helps when there are twelve mechs pounding through the environment, and it even feels better for pilots, as the warren of tunnels around the ground level afford those on foot a better chance at escape when they manage to pull a Titan’s attention.

Angel City, on the other hand, can get very congested, with battles often ending up confined to a certain corner of the map and friendlies trying to manoeuver around one another to get in and out of battle. You can see what I mean in my gameplay montage above.

The Titanfall beta is scheduled to end tomorrow, and I think I’m going to miss it when it’s gone. Thankfully, the full game will be out in a month, with a wealth of new maps, weapons, Titan classes and game modes. I’m looking forward to it. Are you?

