Xillia 2 artbook banner
This time last year, I was unboxing my Tales of Xillia Milla Maxwell Edition, and now here I am with a look at the equivalent edition for the game’s sequel, which this time comes in an even larger box.

However, stuffed into that box is a collectors edition that is improved in many ways over last year’s Milla Maxwell set, with an additional item thrown in, a far better art book, and the game and soundtrack selection this time housed in a nice steelbook featuring Ludger’s overweight cat Rollo. I like steelbooks, but it does mean I won’t be able to get this game signed in the future, like my copy of Xillia.

Obviously, the headline feature of this edition is the figurine of protagonist Ludger Will Kresnik. Like last year’s Milla figure, it’s good quality (though not quite up there with Alter’s line of Tales of figures), but it’s not quite as striking as Milla, for me. That’s mainly because I feel Ludger’s design is more conventional than that of Milla, and, dare I say it, a little bland. Still, it’s a nice figure, and you can get a decent look at it below.

Ludger Kresnik Edition Figure Xillia 2

Next up we’ve got the art book, which is a massive improvement over last year’s. This time, it’s not only a full-size book, but it’s hardback too. I’ve mentioned many times that I much prefer larger, hard-bound art books, so I’m very, very pleased with this and it reminds me a bit of the book that came with the Bravely Default Collectors Edition. I’ve yet to take a proper look at it as I don’t want any accidental spoilers, so it’ll sit on my shelf until I’ve finished the game.

Tales of Xillia 2 Ludger Kresnik Edition Artbook

That extra little trinket I mentioned? It’s a replica of Elle’s pocket watch from the game. Except it’s not actually a pocket watch – open it up and you’ll see that it’s actually a compact mirror, with clock detailing on the other side. Made of metal, it’s a nice, weighty piece and a fun in-universe extra. I don’t know that I’ll ever use it for its intended purpose, but then I’d never have used a pocket watch either. It comes in a nice black presentation box which also includes a small black pouch to keep your trinket in.

Xillia 2 Elle pocketwatch Ludger Kresnik Edition

Lastly, there’s the steelbook, which houses both the game disc and soundtrack selection. I’ve not looked at the second disc yet, but I expect it’ll hold a small handful of tracks from the game (the disc that came with the Milla Maxwell Edition was 12 tracks, for instance). It’s a nice steelbook, featuring the face of Ludger’s rolly-polly cat Rollo on the front, as well as a few skit portraits on the back. As I said above, I like steelbooks – I’ll usually seek them out if there’s an offer for one somewhere – but I actually prefer the steelbook that comes with the game’s Day One Edition, which is covered in colourful art from the game. I have to admit that I very nearly ordered the Day One version in addition to my Ludger Kresnik Edition just to get that case, but thankfully came to my senses.

Xillia 2 Ludger Kresnik Rollo steelbook

Overall, I’m pretty happy with my purchase, just as I was with my Milla Edition last year. And now I have yet another character to add to my Tales of figure collection, which you can see in the gallery below, where I’ve added a few more images of the Collectors Edition. Now all I need to do is finish my second playthrough of the first game before I can get stuck into Ludger and Elle’s adventure in Tales of Xillia 2.

