Mercy Witch
Well that was poorly timed! On Tuesday, I wrote about my plan to fall back in love with Overwatch by forcing myself to learn how to play heroes I’d previously neglected and, more importantly, ignoring competitive. And then that evening, Blizzard dropped the Halloween Terror event on us.

Featuring new, themed loot boxes that bring additional skins, icons, sprays and more, along with – most excitingly – a new brawl called Dr. Junkenstein’s Revenge, the update is now live on all three platforms. In a first for Overwatch, the new brawl is a co-operative PvE survival mode which pits four players against wave upon wave of fodder interspersed with a handful of boss waves that bring reskinned heroes – there’s a pumpkin-headed Reaper, Roadhog as Junkenstein’s Monster, Mercy as a Witch of the Wilds, and finally, Junkrat as the twisted Dr. Junkenstein himself.

Taking place on a portion of the Eichenwalde map, the four players – one each of Soldier 76, McCree, Hanzo and Ana – must defend the door to the castle from oncoming ‘zomnics’ that trundle endlessly to the door before exploding in an attempt to bust in, while ranged ‘zombadiers’ rain down mortars upon you. You’ll often find yourself trying to prioritise these ranged targets, accidentally letting a couple of the bumbling explodey ones sneak by, and every now and then a RIPtyre or two will come screaming toward you to divide your attention even more. The brawl is pretty tough on medium if you’re playing with randoms and have no communication going on, and even on easy you might find yourself overwhelmed now and again, though you’re obviously much more likely to pull it back from the brink.

It’s a really fun mode, and a nice palate cleanser for all the PvP madness that Overwatch is known for. I’ve always wondered what a co-op PvE mode could be like with Overwatch‘s roster and their abilities, and it turns out it’s something that I’d like to see remain in the game. Ok, so it’s heavily-themed, but maybe after the Hallowe’en period is over they could rework it somewhat to allow it to stay. Or maybe even use it as a jumping off point for something even better.

In a nice change, you can now purchase new cosmetic items with your in-game credits – something you weren’t able to do with the previous seasonal event, the Summer Games. To keep the items fairly rare, Blizzard have priced them at three times the going rate, so you’re looking at 3,000 credits for a legendary skin. Unfortunately, this does mean that I can’t afford that awesome Mercy skin, but I was able to buy Ana’s new look, which is equally fantastic. Ana isn’t even a hero I’ve played outside of the training area, but that’s something I’m looking to change, and indeed, the entire point of my plan for getting back into the game is to learn new heroes.

How cool is this!

How cool is this!

So how does this affect that plan? Well, originally I was thinking of focusing on Mercy first, as a new character to learn (and if that awesome skin drops for me, that’ll make me want to play her even more!), but given that this limited-time brawl focuses only on four characters, I’ve decided to use it as a way of getting used to those ones; I mentioned the other day that Soldier is a hero I’ve used a fair bit, but the other three are all essentially new to me. So before jumping into the brawl for a bit last night I headed into the training area to make sure I had their abilities straight in my head, as I wanted to know I’d have some idea of what to do no matter who I ended up playing as. It turns out that most players will insta-lock McCree, and that nobody wants to play Ana in this mode.

So I’ve been playing Ana. Again, she’s not a character I’ve ever really played, despite finding her abilities interesting; she seems like she’d be a pretty high skill ceiling hero, which makes me wonder if I could actually be effective with her, and I’ve always been really crap with snipers too. So it wasn’t much of a surprise to find I could barely hit anything with her at first, and I also found it difficult to get heals on team mates when they were at a medium distance and strafing a lot. Hitting them from afar is much easier, thankfully, so I took to the high ground in the back-right corner of the arena and tended to stay there, throwing out damage-over-time attacks to enemies for the most part, and then trying to pick up allies when they needed healing.

Ana also has a biotic grenade which heals allies while stopping enemies from being healed, and you’ll mostly be using it for its healing effects in this brawl; for the most part, enemies aren’t getting any healing. This changes when Mercy comes out as a boss wave with Roadhog, so this is a good time to use it on ‘Hog, to prevent Mercy from shoring him up. One thing I did find myself forgetting to use quite often is Ana’s sleep dart – in my first couple of games, I almost completely forgot that I had it, but then realised it might be a good idea to use it on Junkrat when he appears on the ramparts to rain down bombs on you. While this is happening, you’re generally dealing with a ton of adds, so it’s useful to stop Junkrat for a few seconds while you clean up.

I feel like I’m getting a good feel for how Ana handles thanks to Junkenstein’s Revenge. As I said above, since being added to the roster she’s been a bit of an intimidating character to me, so it’s nice to be able to get used to her in a (relatively) stress-free environment. One thing this doesn’t help me with is figuring out the best use for Ana’s ultimate, Nano Boost. Of course, in the brawl I only have three choices of who to stick it on, and given Hanzo’s relatively slow rate of fire, it seems like only two are actually viable to me. In a proper match, I’ll have many more options, so before long I’ll need to get out into a game and see what’s what. I think I’ll still move on to step two of the plan – playing a game vs AI – before I jump straight into Quick Play, just to make sure I know what I’m actually supposed to be doing with Ana.

So! A quicker update to my boot camp plan than I intended. I think over the next few days I’ll get some more practice in with both McCree and Hanzo against the zomnic horde, and maybe try and get into Quick Play with at least Ana. I want to spend as much time as possible on the brawl before it disappears though, and I really do wish it would stay. Overwatch could do some amazing things with a PvE mode and all of these amazing characters and abilities.

The brawl has actually had the effect of bringing me back to Overwatch when I was searching for my own way back, so in that sense it was well-timed. It’s a nice stepping stone to getting back out into the standard modes once it’s gone away, and below you can watch a quick match with me as Ana, where I start off awful and get ever-so-slightly better. I’ll be back in the coming days with another update.

